Region 5 HMCC

An HMCC is a formal regional collaboration among public health and healthcare organizations to prepare for and respond to an emergency, mass casualty or other catastrophic health event.

courtesy: FEMA

The core members of the Region 5 HMCC:

  • Community health centers and other large ambulatory care organizations
  • Hospitals and other acute care facilities
  • Nursing homes and other long-term care facilities
  • Public health agencies
  • Public and private emergency medical services
  • Emergency Management

The Health and Medical Coordinating Coalition (HMCC) is guided by five core disciplines that engage in health and medical preparedness and response: Community Health Centers, EMS, Hospitals, Long Term Care and Public Health. Many of these disciplines work across county lines to coordinate information sharing across the five counties of Region 5. In addition to the five core disciplines, the Emergency Management discipline has also been added.

The core disciplines play a primary role in emergency preparedness and response in Region 5 due to their pre-existing relationships with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (MDPH) Office of Preparedness and Emergency Management (OPEM). In the growth of the HMCC, other health and medical partners, such as dialysis centers, ambulatory care centers, behavioral health centers, home health care, hospice,etc. are also invited to participate as stakeholders in the HMCC.